Carl Phillips

Carl Phillips was born in 1959. He is the author of numerous books of
poetry, most recently Speak Low (2009), Quiver of Arrows: Selected
Poems 1986–2006
(Farrar, Straus and Giroux 2007) and Riding Westward
(2006). His collection The Rest of Love (2004) won the Theodore Roethke
Memorial Foundation Poetry Prize and the Thom Gunn Award for Gay
Male Poetry, and was a finalist for the National Book Award. His other
books include: Rock Harbor (2002); The Tether (2001), winner of the
Kingsley Tufts Poetry Award; Pastoral (2000), winner of the Lambda
Literary Award; From the Devotions (1998), finalist for the National Book
Award; Cortége (1995), finalist for the National Book Critics Circle
Award; and In the Blood (1992), winner of the Samuel French Morse
Poetry Prize. His poems have been chosen eight times for the annual Best
American Poetry series. He is also the author of a book of prose, Coin of
the Realm: Essays on the Art and Life of Poetry
(2004), and the translator
of Sophocles’s Philoctetes (2003). Phillips is Professor of English and of
African and Afro-American Studies at Washington University in St. Louis,
where he also teaches in the Creative Writing Program. He was elected an
Academy of American Poets Chancellor in 2006.

Content tagged Carl Phillips